Key stage one education

Home Quality of education Key stage one education

Subjects such as geography, history and science weave seamlessly through the curriculum. The 'Prime Learning Challenge' questions ensure these links are strong.

Ofsted, 2017

In key stage one, we offer a curriculum that gives each child the opportunity to acquire the social skills and a knowledge and understanding of the world that will adequately prepare them for the next stage of their edcuation.

We aim to provide an environment that is academically challenging and builds each pupil's confidence, independence, creativity and motivation.

Within key stage one, learning concentrates on ten national curriculum subjects which are split between core and foundation area.

The core areas of the national curriculum are:

  • English
  • mathematics
  • science

The foundation areas of the national curriculum are:

  • art and design
  • computing
  • design and technology
  • geography
  • history
  • music
  • physical education

Other curriculum subjects include

  • personal, social, health and economic education
  • religious education

Read about what is taught within each of these subjects

Learning Phases

Our curriculum is divided into three learning phases called:

  • Discover Learning Phase
  • Explore Learning Phase
  • Create Learning Phase

Within each learning phase, planned Prime Learning Challenges form the basis of teaching and learning within the curriculum subjects in Key Stage one.

Prime Learning Challenges

Prime Learning Challenge questions stem from assessments of the whole child and form the focus for all learning. Prime Learning Challenge questions drive learning forward in manageable episodes. Lessons respond to what pupils will need to learn in order to answer the Prime Learning Challenge and form the foundations for the week’s teaching and learning. As children work through each Prime Learning Challenge, evidence of what they have learned displayed on Learning Walls.